Weather Data Source: South Carolina Weather


Government Spartanburg SC

Spartanburg County, South Carolina

Jerome Rice, the current mayor, was elected in 2021. Spartanburg has a city manager system of government in which the mayor and six members of the city council have equal voting rights. Council members represent city districts, and the mayor is chosen at large. The city manager is appointed by the council and is in charge of the day-to-day administration of local government matters. 145 West Broad Street is the address of City Hall.

The Spartanburg County Administration Building (the original Sears building, which was vacated in the mid-1970s when Sears relocated to Westgate Mall and renovated in the late 1980s or early 1990s) is situated at 366 North Church Street. It is located across the street from the Spartanburg Memorial Auditorium.

All City citizens live in one of six City Council districts, each of which is represented by a Council member. Members of the council serve staggered four-year terms.

The Mayor, who, like the six Council members, has one vote on legislative matters and no veto authority, is elected in a city-wide election every four years. Jerome Rice was elected Mayor in November 2021 after spending three years on the City Council representing District 5.

The City Council meets at 5:30 p.m. on the second and fourth Mondays of each month in City Hall, 145 W Broad St.


Would you like to add your business to our site?